One thing I get all the time about ski racing is the painful yet common comment about how tight our ‘spandex suits’ are.

I hate it when people call them that. Every time I tell them that I’m a ski racer, I usually get the response of “Oh, you’re the kids that wear those tight spandex suits”.

First off, kid, the name of this ‘spandex suit’ is actually called a downhill suit. Why do we wear them? No, it is not because we’re secretly disco dancers, it’s because it’s aerodynamic. What’s a ski racer if there’s no speed?

Yes, I know that the downhill suit can be a bit, erm, unflattering on the boys, who are, erm, having some technical difficulties with their bodies, but us girls don’t have issues. We like to think we look like this:

But the public’s look at us all like:

 

Don’t make fun of us. We’d probably slay you on the hill anyways. We’re the kids that use the slow signs as gates. Or, sometime we use the newbs as gates too, since they move so slowly.

Just kidding.

Anyways, downhill suits come in a variety of colors, patterns and the like. There are even ones that can cost up to 500$. Shocking, right? There’s many things I could buy with 500 bucks, starting with groceries, which my fridge desperately needs.

There’s many a downhill suit brand. And like designer labels, there are brands that are more favored than others. There are downhill suits that are modeled after top-notch World Cup racers (celebrities in our eyes), ones made specially for national teams and provincial teams.

World Cup Champion Lindsey Vonn at Lake Louise in 2011

However, a downhill suit fashion faux-pas is probably a downhill suit that is too saggy in the bum. The suit must fit tight in all areas (yes, front and back), and seeing girls in the start corral with saggy butts just makes me wince in pain.

ahhh

So, there we have it, our very first ‘Real Facts About Ski Racing’. I promise you that there will be more. If you have a suggestion about what I could post next, give me shout in the comment box.

See you on the hill,

E.

