First off, I must apologize to my amazing followers (yes, there is only six of you at the moment, but I’m hopeful that those numbers will someday go up-to seven…maybe?), who have somehow managed to still follow me though my blog has been running dyer than the Sahara Desert lately.

Fine. It’s been dry for about five months now…

Whatever people, I’ve been busy– skiing around the world isn’t as easy as one may think–ahem, teachers–who seem to think that I’m slacking off and using the atrocious amount of days off school as a way to get out of doing anything.

Um…

Exactly.

But one day, my favorite teacher in the world (haha funny) asked me if I was going to go to the Olympics. I paused for about five minutes.

“I just want to know if I should actually be excusing you from all of these tests,” he says in a good-natured way “because if I see you on the TV one day, I can say, ‘Ha I exempted her from that physics lab! What a star student!’”

I gave him one of my best unimpressed looks.

Me exactly

This got me thinking about ski racing and how hard it is to achieve greatness/success in both areas of our life: school and skiing. We know that the good marks are expected of us, or perhaps we put this upon ourselves, but we know for sure that we want to excel at this sport that has practically become us: ski racing.

I know how hard that is, being a high school student and ski racer. My mom  has always drilled into my head since birth (no wonder I was purple) that everything has to have a fine balance, or you will be unhappy in life and will not have good fortune. I know it sounds hokey, but when your mom is Chinese, you get a lot of deep Asian quotes. Just typing it out makes me feel ancient.

I’ve seen many a fellow ski racer quit after x amount of years due to the increasing difficulty to catch up due to all the school missed:  teachers start forgetting you exist. They start hating you. They murder you every once a month when you actually show up. Or they just drown you in missed homework telling you “We’re starting a new chapter tomorrow! Keep up!”

It all feels like a race, which is ironic, since the sport I do involves turning around blue and red sticks, trying to get your ass down to the finish line as quickly as possible.

School feels like this as well, trying to keep up, straining to finish every ounce of homework in order to be caught up to the newest chapter.

For some it’s too much, I know a lot of my friends that feel this way. I feel this way about 99.99% of my insane life.

I know that I won’t be the next Linsey Vonn (I’m actually the next Hermann Maier people), so my goals in FIS next year, since I’m coming fresh out of U16, is to just finish races, get my points down, and do well in school.

I’m actually not popular, if you were wondering. Skiing is all I have for social life. Cue the awkward eye twitch.

Everyone has different goals, I know boys that could easily be on the national team, considering how amazing their technique is.

But everyone’s different, and I know that even if you’re considering quitting; schools too much and you have to focus on that, then good for you on being smart and getting an education, as the rest of us fly around on planks while juggling textbooks.

If you’re still going strong, then hey, maybe I’ll see you on the TV sometime, but just remember:

Balance.

See you up on the hill,

E.